Skip directly to content

Statewide Technical Assistance And Resources Team (START)

Together families can make a difference

The START Project offers programs and services that support the engagement of families to improve outcomes for students, including developing and supporting special education parent advisory and support groups in communities and school districts.   Through workshops, regional meetings, and parent leadership development activities, we help parents and parent leaders:

Check out these START events and activities:

START UpComing Events

START Parent Leadership Development Training 

FInd and List a Parent Group 

​Serving on Groups- Webinar Series and Resources

Inclusion Resources

STARTing and Running a Parent Group 

Disproportionality Resources

Literacy Strategies for Families 

Our Programs & Services For Families, Schools and Districts:

 

----------------------------------------------------------------  

START Director | Karen Antone, kantone@spannj.org
Literacy & Disproportionality Specialist | Michele Brevner-Tyler | mtyler@spannj.org
Find your region's Parent Group Specialist below, or
Phone | 973-642-8100 ext. 123
What families/professions are saying about this project: 

“A strong parent advisory group can help foster ongoing communication between the parents and school to better serve our children.”

“The Inclusion Mini-Conference was great. Thought provoking, good information; very relevant.”

“The advice that parents need to continually talk with school district personnel and develop meaningful inclusion programs and then continually evaluate their childrens’ progress based on data was on the mark.”

Key Resources of Interest: 

START Project Resources include:

Other Resources:

Staff: 

Meet the START Project's Staff

START Project Director
​Karen Antone kantone@spannj.org

​START Project Coordinator
​Michele Tyler
mtyler@spannj.org

Parent Group Specialists

South
Debbie Esposito, desposito@spannj.org  Burlington, Camden, Gloucester
Tatsiana DaGrosa, tdagrosa@spannj.org  Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland, Salem

Central
Stefanie Babits, sbabits@spannj.org  Ocean, Monmouth, Middlesex 
Monique Dujue Wilson mdujue@spannj.org  Hunterdon, Somerset, Mercer 

North
Myriam Alizo, malizo@spannj.org  Union, Bergen, Essex, Hudson
Brenda Figueroa, bfigueroa@spannj.org  Passiac, Morris, Sussex, Warren 

 

SPAN's START Project is funded through a Cooperative Agreement with the New Jersey Department of Education, Office of Special Education.